Brand24, Mention and Awario alternatives for small teams
Keep a broader tool such as Brand24 or Awario if you need more channels or a larger collection allowance. If your priority is reviewing public feedback on X and YouTube, a narrower inbox may fit better; UmmahSignal is in invite-only beta.
Published by UmmahSignal. This comparison uses the vendors’ own pricing pages, not a performance test or customer review.
Quick answer: which tool fits a small team?
- Pick Brand24 if its source coverage and AI sentiment analysis justify the Individual plan’s $249 monthly price for your team.
- Pick Awario if you need Boolean queries, groups of keywords and a larger entry collection allowance: Starter lists 30,000 new mentions per month.
- Consider Mention if you need its broader monitoring offering and can confirm a suitable quote, source scope and limits directly with the vendor.
- Request the UmmahSignal beta if you mainly need an X and YouTube review inbox and can work within scheduled scans, quotas and YouTube’s manual-review restrictions.
Side-by-side comparison
These are entry plans. Annual prices require annual billing; all figures below are USD. UmmahSignal’s paid plans are separate from its free, approved beta.
On smaller screens, scroll the table sideways to compare every tool.
| What to compare | Brand24 | Awario | Mention | UmmahSignal |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Entry plan | Individual | Starter | Company; confirm with vendor | Starter |
| Monthly billing (USD) | $249 / month | $49 / month | Not verified | $29 / month |
| Annual billing (USD) | $199 / month, billed annually | $29 / month, billed annually | Not verified | $261 / year ($21.75 / month) |
| Keywords or topics | 3 keywords | 3 topics; unlimited keywords per topic | Not verified | 3 keywords; one positive phrase each |
| Monthly collection allowance | 2,000 mentions | 30,000 new mentions | Not verified | 1,000 signals |
| Entry seats | 1 user | 1 team member | Not verified | 1 seat |
| Coverage approach | Social and web source list; check required scope | Social and web monitoring; check required scope | Social, web and review monitoring; confirm scope | X + YouTube in activated workspaces; scoped coverage |
| Features and restrictions | AI sentiment analysis; Individual updates every 12 hours | Boolean search. Starter excludes CSV export and PDF reports | Confirm features and limits with the vendor | Review inbox; no automatic overage charges. Paid API/MCP/webhooks require entitlement and eligible X content |
| Trial or beta | 14-day trial | Free trial; duration not stated on this pricing page | Confirm with vendor | Invite-only beta: 14 days, 1 seat, 1 keyword, 100 signals; no card |
Checked . “Not verified” means we could not confirm a value on the official page; it does not mean the feature is absent. Mention and signal allowances are vendor-defined and do not guarantee equivalent coverage or unique-conversation counts. An Awario topic can contain several keywords; each new UmmahSignal keyword tracks one positive phrase.
What it’s good at
Brand24 lists a broad source catalogue and includes AI sentiment analysis on Individual. If those sources matter to your work, the broader tool may be worth keeping.
Where small teams struggle
Individual costs $249 monthly, or $199 per month billed annually, for three keywords, 2,000 monthly mentions and one user. That is a substantial starting budget for a solo founder; its listed 12-hour update interval is also worth checking against your review needs.
Mention’s official page describes social, web and review monitoring and a Company offering. We could not verify a numeric price, entry keyword limit, mention allowance or seat count from that page on the checked date.
Ask Mention for a quote with your required sources, seats and reporting needs. An unknown price is not evidence that it is cheaper or more expensive than the alternatives.
Awario is a strong option if your priority is collection volume and flexible queries. Starter combines Boolean search with groups of keywords; compare its topic model with a tool that counts individual phrases.
Starter stores up to 5,000 mentions per topic. Its plan table excludes CSV export and PDF reports, so check higher tiers if reporting is essential. The pricing page offers a free trial but does not state its duration.
A focused review inbox for X and YouTube
UmmahSignal is for founders, small brands, creators and community teams who want to find useful public questions and feedback, then decide who should handle them. Teams of every background are welcome.
What’s live today
X and YouTube collection is live in activated workspaces with verified access. Review matching items, keep source context, assign responsibility and record a human review; daily beta scans and provider quotas apply.
Read the exact source coverage before choosing a plan.
What we deliberately don’t do
We do not auto-reply, publish posts, access DMs or infer someone’s religion. Opening a source is not proof that a question has been answered; your team decides and responds on the original platform.
Limits to know
We are in invite-only beta. Starter advertises 3 keywords and 1,000 monthly signals for $29 per month; Pro allows up to 10 seats and Scale up to 20. Source access remains separate from plan capacity.
YouTube is manual review only: no AI, aggregate analytics, exports, alerts, REST API, MCP or webhooks. Paid developer access requires an active entitlement and only permits eligible X content. No automatic overage charges.
How to choose
Write down the job you need the tool to do before comparing the largest feature list.
- Channels and content. List the platforms, public comments or Page activity you need, and confirm the exact scope.
- Keywords. Count brands, aliases and campaigns. Check whether a slot means one phrase or a topic containing many phrases.
- Monthly volume. Compare collection and storage limits, plus what happens when you reach them.
- People and follow-through. Check seats, assignments and the review workflow your team will actually use.
- Analysis and reporting. Decide whether you need sentiment, exports or client reports, and verify the tier and source restrictions.
- Budget and billing. Compare monthly commitments, annual totals, taxes and any paid add-ons.
Explore our workflows for product feedback, customer questions and creators reviewing public praise, or review the plan limits.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest alternative to Brand24 for a small team?
Among the verified monthly entry prices on this page, UmmahSignal’s advertised $29 Starter plan costs less than Awario at $49 and Brand24 at $249. It is in invite-only beta with narrower coverage, and Mention’s price was not verified, so this is not a claim about the cheapest tool on the market.
Is Awario cheaper than Brand24?
Yes, at the entry plans checked here: Awario is $49 per month or $29 per month billed annually; Brand24 is $249 or $199 respectively. Their allowances and keyword models differ, so compare the scope you need as well as the price.
Does UmmahSignal monitor Reddit or LinkedIn?
Not yet for customer use: both are coming soon and depend on provider approval. Planned LinkedIn coverage is authorised Company Page activity, not unrestricted public-profile keyword search; Facebook and Instagram customer access also remains pending.
Can I monitor YouTube comments on videos I don’t own?
UmmahSignal can collect supported public top-level comments on videos within a configured keyword, channel or video scope; ownership of the video is not required for that public coverage. This is bounded collection, not a search of every YouTube comment, and disabled or inaccessible comments cannot be collected.
Do social listening tools reply automatically? Does UmmahSignal?
Monitoring alone does not mean a tool sends automatic replies; check each vendor’s separate publishing or engagement features. UmmahSignal does not auto-reply, post or send DMs: a person reviews the context and replies on the original platform.
Is UmmahSignal available now?
UmmahSignal is in invite-only beta, rather than general availability. Approved testers receive 14 days from invitation acceptance, one seat, one tracked keyword and up to 100 collected signals, with no card, automatic charge or renewal.
Start with one keyword and a useful review habit.
Approved testers receive 14 days, one seat, one keyword and up to 100 signals. No card or automatic renewal.